Skip to content

National Hazing Prevention Week

September 21, 2011

National Hazing Prevention Week is September 19-23, 2011 and is an opportunity for campuses, communities, organizations and individuals to promote the prevention of hazing. You can participate in this annual event through your student life campus programs, host your own awareness campaign, or even discuss in chapter meeting. The objective is to increase awareness, promote preventative methods, and strengthen chapter activities without endangerment to other individuals.

One of the best ways to prevent hazing is to know what hazing is. An article posted at HazingPrevention.org answers that question:

Hazing is any action taken or situation created intentionally:

  • that causes embarrassment, harassment or ridicule
  • risks emotional and/or physical harm
  • to members of an group or team
  • whether new or not
  • regardless of the person’s willingness to participate

Still confused? Ask yourself these questions:

  • Would I feel comfortable participating in this activity if my parents were watching?
  • Would we get in trouble if the Dean of Students walked by?
  • Am I being asked to keep these activities a secret?
  • Am I doing anything illegal?
  • Does participation violate my values or those of my organization?
  • Is it causing emotional distress or stress of any kind to myself or others?
  • If someone were injured, would I feel comfortable being investigated by the insurance carrier?
  • When I apply for jobs, can I take the onus of having a criminal arrest on my record?

For more information on hazing prevention and how to get involved, visit HazingPrevention.org.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

